Colorado Reports No Underage Marijuana Sales
The Denver Post recently reported that there have been no underage marijuana sales made across the state. According to the Colorado Department of Revenue, the state Marijuana Enforcement Division has conducted 20 undercover stings to see whether or not a marijuana dispensary will sell to anyone under 21 years of age. As of today, there has been zero sales made to minors.
Barbara Brohl, the executive director of the Department of Revenue, has stated her concern for keeping cannabis out of the hands of children and commends the state for putting forth immense efforts to do so. "It is imperative that we keep marijuana out of the hands of kids. These results show that strong efforts are being made by the MED and the marijuana business licensees to do just that," she said.
Dispensaries that are caught selling to an underage person could have their license suspended, revoked or face a fine up to $100,000. Marijuana dispensaries are allowed to sell medical cannabis to patients under the age of 21 with legal consent from a physician, however, recreational cannabis is forbidden from being sold to minors.