Palm Beach, Florida Lightens Marijuana Laws
Residents of Palm Beach County, Florida have been relieved of serious criminal punishments for small amounts of cannabis. The Palm Beach County Commission voted 4-1 in favor of the measure that would allow Sheriff's deputies of the county to issue a citation in the amount of $100 to avoid going to jail.
The new rules apply to Palm Beach County. According to the ordinance, cities have the ability to opt in. The fine comes with a civil citation for possession of marijuana, similar to a traffic ticket. People are able to go to court to challenge the citation but will face a penalty of up to $500, plus court costs, if the judge finds that they broke the law.
Violators can decide to do 10 hours of community service instead of paying the fine. However, citations may only be issues twice. Repeat violators could face arrest.