Texas Lessening Marijuana Punishments
The Texas Legislature filed a bill on Monday in which the maximum penalty for the possession of less than an ounce of marijuana a $100 fine. The fine will not be reviewed by anyone conducting a background check and will not be considered as a criminal conviction.
Currently, the state of Texas classifies the possession of any amount of marijuana less than 2 ounces as a Class B misdemeanor. Such charges are punishable by a fine of up to $2,000 and a maximum of six months in jail. Optimistically, the state has passed a law in 2007 allowing those caught in possession of marijuana to cited for the misdemeanor and released. While Dallas, Harris and Tarrant, the three biggest counties in the state, have not adopted cite-and-releas but Dallas has yet to do so. The city of Dallas plans on enacting the law in 2015.